Skip to main content

25 years AMS

The AMS is celebrating its 25th anniversary!

On the occasion of the 25th anniversary of AMS, Dr. Bernhard Sünder, founder and managing director, answered questions about the company, previous milestones, and innovations as well as providing a vision into the future of Big Test Data and other areas...

You’ve founded the AMS exactly 25 years ago. Would you please elaborate on your motivation in starting your own business?

At that time, I was the Business Unit Manager Universal Metrology at HBM. The metrological software on PCs was in its infancy and I got the chance to become self-employed with the BEAM software I initiated. I wouldn’t want to miss such an opportunity.

 

AMS is a software company that develops and customizes systems and tools for the post-processing of measurement data. Is there a reason why you’ve specialized in this particular area?

The majority of companies in the field of metrology specialize in the generation of measurement data, sensors and data acquisition. The management of measurement data and the use of the assets of experimental data, e.g. Data Mining, are demands that have been on the rise in the past 4 years. Here we have been able to develop seminal solutions in recent years.

 

 

AMS founder & CEO
Dr. Bernhard Sünder - founder & CEO of the AMS

In the course of its existence, AMS has created a whole range of modern technologies and innovations. For example, a communication protocol EnCom was developed that revolutionized the technology of transmitting vast amounts of data...

Often, the small, barely visible technologies are essential for the big concept. For example, the communication technology EnCom. It enables two programs that are connected via network to efficiently exchange metrological data (signals). It is indispensable in the 'Interactive Evaluation' workflow within a measurement data management system. The gigabytes of data on the server cannot be downloaded easily without overloading the network. Only by reducing data via EnCom technology this use case is solvable on a larger scale.

 

What - from a professional point of view - was your personal highlight from the past 25 years and why?

A significant step was entering the Chinese market. In the fall of 2012 I flew to Shanghai for the newly opened Testing-Expo, imaging the possibilities my company would have there. I’ve only had 5 posters and my laptop taken with me. At the empty booth, I was immediately surrounded by Chinese, who offered me different stand accessories. A 45" monitor for rent should initially cost € 400,-. After 3 hours we were then at € 50,- including a booth. When the first day of the expo started, I had a complete and beautiful stand. It was the beginning of the 'success story China'.

 

What are your thoughts when you reminisce about the 25 years of your company?

25 years is a long time. Bringing 25 years of innovative peak performance requires a lot of personal energy, but also good staff, like perfect software developers, who are able to implement the ideas. It was a risky move, but today I can say: it was the right one.

 

 

The term 'Big Data' is currently under frequent and controversial discussion. How do you and your company position yourself on this topic?

The amount of measurement data increases exponentially. Especially for business data, technologies called 'big data' were developed in Silicon Valley. However, it is becoming increasingly clear that these technologies are not optimal for measurement data. Thus, we have developed alternatives that are based on the well-known paradigms of parallelism and 'analysis to the data', but also meet the specific requirements for measurement data. 25 years of experience with measurement data analysis are very helpful. To distinguish ourselves clearly from the business data solutions, we have coined the term BIG TEST DATA. Various technologies have been developed to realize the Data Mining workflow for measurement data. We are offering these technologies today – completely focused on engineers.

big test data
AMS toolchain

With the development of a modern measurement data management system and an analysis and visualization software for measurement data in the big data area, the AMS is actually covering the entire workflow for the post-processing of test data, right?

Actually, there are 3 important workflows:

1. Server based reports (Reporting on Demand)

2. Interactive evaluation

3. Data Mining, incl. parallel cluster evaluation

AMS realizes all 3 workflows today. This year Data Mining became the third branch. One can also call this 'analysis on demand'. In the first step, the engineer defines a filter for the 20,000 tests that are interesting for Data Mining. Afterwards, these tests are evaluated in parallel in a cluster process. Certain events are searched for and then stored with the associated parameters in a table, for example. This table can then be analyzed with typical Data Mining algorithms. The AMS provides a whole set of algorithms for this purpose, but each customer can also develop and use their own algorithms.

 

In your opinion, where is the development of Big Test Data and Test Data Mining heading? Is the AMS equipped for the requirements of ANALYTICS 4.0?

We already have customers who store 10,000 tests a day! In the near future we will no longer talk about peta-bytes, but exa-bytes of data. Powerful software is required to manage and analyze this colossal amount of information. At this year's Testing Expo in Stuttgart we could see that we have developed the right technologies and are on the right track. But there will be new challenges and it is a personal pleasure to accompany this technological development under the term 'Analytics 4.0'.

Skip to main content

25 Jahre AMS

Die AMS feiert 25-jähriges Bestehen!

 

Anlässlich dieses Jubiläums der Gesellschaft für Mess- und Systemtechnik mbH - kurz AMS - wurden dem Gründer und Geschäftsführer, Herrn Dr. Bernhard Sünder, ein paar Fragen zum Unternehmen und bisherigen Meilensteinen sowie Innovationen gestellt und mit ihm zusammen ein Blick in die Zukunft von Big Test Data & Co. gewagt...

Vor 25 Jahren haben Sie die AMS GmbH gegründet. Erzählen Sie doch bitte, was Sie damals dazu bewegt hat, ein eigenes Unternehmen zu gründen!

Zur damaligen Zeit war ich Business Unit Manager für Universal-Messtechnik bei HBM. Die messtechnische Software auf PCs steckte noch in den Kinderschuhen und ich bekam die Chance, mich mit der von mir initiierten Software BEAM selbstständig zu machen. Eine solche Chance ließ ich mir nicht entgehen.

Die AMS GmbH ist ein Software-Unternehmen, welches Systeme und Tools für das Post-Processing von Messdaten entwickelt und kundenspezifisch modifiziert. Wieso haben Sie sich auf diesen Teil spezialisiert?

Das Gros der Firmen im messtechnischen Bereich spezialisiert sich auf das Erzeugen von Messdaten, Sensorik und Datenerfassung. Die Verwaltung der Messdaten und dem Nutzen der Assets der Versuchsdaten z.B. Data-Mining sind Forderungen, die in den letzten 4 Jahren massiv gestellt wurden. Hier konnten wir in den letzten Jahren wegweisende Lösungen entwickeln.

AMS Gründer & CEO
Dr. Bernhard Sünder - AMS Gründer & CEO

Die AMS GmbH hat im Laufe ihres Bestehens eine ganze Reihe an modernen Technologien und Innovationen geschaffen. Beispielsweise wurde ein Kommunikationsprotokoll EnCom entwickelt, welches die Technik der Übertragung großer Datenmengen revolutionierte…

Ja, häufig sind die kleinen, kaum sichtbaren Technologien wesentlich für das große Konzept. So zum Beispiel die Kommunikationstechnologie EnCom. Sie ermöglicht zwei Programmen, die über Netzwerk verbunden sind, effizient messtechnische Daten (Signale) auszutauschen. Unentbehrlich ist die 'Interaktive Auswertung' im Workflow innerhalb eines Messdaten-Management-Systems. Die Gigabytes an Daten auf dem Server können nicht einfach heruntergeladen werden, da sonst das Netzwerk zusammenbrechen würde. Nur durch die Datenreduktion der EnCom-Technologie ist dieser Usecase auch im größeren Stil lösbar.

 

Was waren - aus beruflicher Sicht - Ihre persönlichen Highlights aus den vergangenen 25 Jahren und warum?

Ein prägender Schritt war der Gang nach China. Das Potential vor Augen flog ich im Herbst 2012 nach Shanghai zur neu eröffneten Testing-Expo. Nur 5 Poster und mein Laptop waren im Gepäck. Auf dem leeren Messestand war ich sofort umzingelt von Chinesen, die mir unterschiedliches Standzubehör anboten. Ein 45'' Monitor zur Miete sollte zunächst 400,- € kosten, nach 3 Stunden waren wir dann bei 50,- € inklusive Stand. Am ersten Tag der Messe hatte ich dann einen kompletten Stand. Es war der Beginn der 'Erfolgsstory China'.

 

Welche persönliche Bilanz ziehen Sie in diesem Jahr für die AMS GmbH?

25 Jahre sind eine lange Zeit. 25 Jahre innovative Spitzenleistung zu bringen, erfordert viel persönliche Energie, aber auch gutes Personal - perfekte Programmierer, die die Ideen dann auch umsetzen. Es war ein risikoreicher Schritt, aber heute kann ich sagen: der Richtige.

 

 

Der Begriff 'Big Data' wird derzeit oft und auch kontrovers diskutiert. Wie positionieren Sie und Ihre Firma sich zu diesem Thema?

Die Menge der Messdaten nimmt exponentiell zu. Speziell für Businessdaten wurden im Silicon Valley Technologien unter dem Begriff 'Big Data' entwickelt. Es zeigt sich aber immer mehr, dass diese Technologien nicht optimal für Messdaten sind. Deshalb haben wir Alternativen entwickelt, die auch auf den bekannten Paradigmen der Parallelität und 'Analysis to the Data' basieren und den spezifischen Anforderungen für Messdaten gerecht werden. 25 Jahre Messdatenauswertung sind da sehr hilfreich. Um uns klar von den Businessdaten-Lösungen abzusetzen, haben wir den Begriff BIG TEST DATA geprägt. Verschiedene Technologien wurden entwickelt, um spezielles Data-Mining für Messdaten zu realisieren. Heute bieten wir diesen Workflow für Ingenieure an.

Big Test Data
AMS Toolchain

Mit der Entwicklung eines modernen Messdaten-Management-Systems und einer Auswerte- und Visualisierungssoftware für Messdaten im Big Data-Bereich hat die AMS GmbH ja eigentlich den gesamten Workflow für das Post-Processing von Testdaten abgedeckt, oder?

Eigentlich gibt es 3 wichtige Workflows:

1. Server basierte Berichte (Reporting on demand)

2. Interaktive Auswertung

3. Data-Mining, inkl. Parallele Cluster Auswertung

Die AMS realisiert heute alle 3 Workflows. In diesem Jahr ist Data Mining als dritter Zweig hinzugekommen. 'Analysis on Demand' kann man diesen auch nennen. Im ersten Schritt definiert der Ingenieur einen Filter für die 20.000 Versuche, die für das Data Mining interessant sind. In einem Cluster-Prozess werden diese parallel ausgewertet, d.h. es werden beispielsweise bestimmte Ereignisse gesucht und dann mit den zugehörigen Parametern in eine Tabelle gespeichert. Diese Tabelle wird nun mit typischen Data Mining-Algorithmen analysiert. Die AMS stellt hierzu ein ganzes Set an Algorithmen zur Verfügung, doch kann jeder Kunde auch eigene Algorithmen entwickeln und nutzen.

 

Wo geht, Ihrer Meinung nach, diese Entwicklung von Big Test Data und Data Mining hin? Ist die AMS GmbH für die Anforderungen der ANALYTICS 4.0 gerüstet?

Wir haben heute schon Kunden, die 10.000 Tests pro Tag (!) einlagern. In Kürze spricht man nicht mehr von Petabytes, sondern Exabytes. Das bedeutet wiederum, leistungsfähige Software ist gefordert, diese gigantische Informationsquelle zu verwalten und zu analysieren. Auf der diesjährigen Testing-Expo in Stuttgart konnten wir sehen, dass wir die richtigen Technologien bereits entwickelt haben und somit auf dem richtigen Weg sind. Es werden aber auch wieder neue Herausforderungen kommen und es ist mir ein persönliches Vergnügen, diese technische Entwicklung unter dem Begriff 'Analytics 4.0' zu begleiten.